
 
APPENDICES GUIDE AND TIME LINE (2014-2015) 

Alabama First Class Pre-Kindergarten Program  
Time Line 

  

STATUS TASK APPENDIX DATE SUBMISSION 

 Accreditation Documentation  September 30 BaselineEdge 

 Official Transcripts (new teachers 
only) 

 October 1 Mailed to Pimika at OSR 

 Teacher Salary Schedules A   

 Parent Fee Sliding Scale For Tiered 
and Plus Grants 

B   

 Family Information Form C Within 20 days of start 
of school On-Site 

 Parent Contract 

 
D 
 

Within 20 days of start 
of school 

On Site; Originals to be 
picked up by Program 
Monitor; copies left on 

site 

 Notice of Receipt and Explanation 
of Code of Student Behavior 

E 
 

Within 20 days of start 
of school On-Site 

 Health Screening Permission & 
Review  

F Permission by 20th day 
of school, parent 
review due by May 15, 
2015 

On Site 

 Child Health Screening Record G March 31, 2015 On-Site 

 Waiver Request Form H Ongoing Electronically 

 New Student Checklist I Ongoing On-Site 

 Immediate Suspension 
Notification Form 

J As Needed On-Line 

 Parent Orientation Verification 
and Sign-In 

K Within 20 days of start 
of school On-Site 

 Suggested Topics to Cover During 
Parent Orientation 

L   

 Annual calendar of planned parent 
involvement activities 

 October 1 On-Site 

 Copies of Staff Background Checks- 
Lead, Auxiliary, Substitutes 

 October 1 Mailed 

 Individual Parent/Family 
Involvement Log 

M Ongoing On-Site 

 Code of Alabama for the Office of 
School Readiness 

N   

 Classroom Inventory and Purchase 
List 

 
O Ongoing 

On-Site; to be checked 
by Program Coaches 

and Monitors 

 Alabama’s Mandatory Child Abuse 
and Neglect Law 

P   



 

  

 
Ages and Stages Questionnaire 
(ASQ-3) – to be completed by 
parents 

On 
External 

Drive  
September 30 On-Site 

 Children with Special Needs Q   

 Intervention Request Form R As Needed Electronically 

 Required Equipment, Materials 
and Supplies 

S Ongoing  

 DHR Playground Safety Guidelines T   



 
 APPENDIX A 

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
Teacher Salary Schedule 
(Non-Certified & Certified) 

LEAD TEACHER: 

 BS/BA Certified 

First Class Program  

Salaries 

$31,518 $36,867 

 

These are minimum starting salaries. Programs can adjust salaries based on additional sources of funding and 
years of experience.  

Note: The salary for certified teachers is only required for teachers in public schools. 

  

AUXILIARY TEACHER: 

 CDA/Required Coursework 

 

First Class Salary $18,033 

 

OSR only requires programs to pay the CDA salary for auxiliary teachers. If the auxiliary teacher has a higher 
credential, programs may choose to pay the recommended salary for that credential. 

 

If the Auxiliary Teacher salary exceeds the current salary of Teacher’s Aides in public school sites, it is 
recommended that the school develop a new classification to reflect the increased education requirement and 
increased work expectations of an OSR Auxiliary Teacher. 

  



 
Alabama State Department of Education Teacher Salary Schedule 

FY 2014 Foundation Program 

State Minimum Salary Schedule 
Classroom Teachers 

Public School Experience – 187 Day Contract 
 Bachelor Master 6-Year Doctoral Non-Degree  
 BS MS 6Y DO ND 

< 3 yrs 36,867 
 

42,395 45,714 49,032 36,867 

< 6 yrs 40,551 
 

46,634 50,283 53,935 40,551 

< 9 yrs 42,327 
 

48,675 52,499 56,295 42,327 

< 12 yrs 42,894 
 

49,329 53,191 57,051 42,894 

< 15 yrs 43,674 
 

50,223 54,155 58,088 43,674 

< 18 yrs 44,670 51,371 55,391 59,409 44,670 
 

<21 yrs 45,247 52,032 56,105 60,179 45,247 
 

24 yrs 45,825 52,699 56,822 60,947 45,825 
 

< 27 yrs 46,370 53,245 57,370 61,494 46,370 
 

27+ yrs 46,917 53,792 57,916 62,040 46,917 
 

 
The anniversary date of experience shall be used to determine the appropriate step for experience. 
 

An employee is entitled to pay for an advanced degree in the monthly pay period that begins after 
the State Superintendent recognizes the advanced degree. If the contract period has ended, the 
increase in pay will become effective with the first pay period of the next contract. The advanced 
degree must be earned from a regionally accredited institution. 

 
 

 
  



 
APPENDIX B 

OSR First Class Pre- Program 
Parent Fee Sliding Scale for Tiered and Plus Grants 

 

 Household Size  100% 200%  300% 400% 
 1 $11,670 $23,340 $35,010 $46,680 
 2 15,730  31,460 47,190 62,920 
 3 19,790  39,580 59,370 79,160 
 4 23,850  47,700 71,550 95,400 
 5 27,910  55,820 83,730 111,640 
 6 31,970  63,940 95,910 127,880 
 7 36,030  72,060 108,090 144,120 
 8 40,090  80,180 120,270 160,360 

 
 
 
 

2014-2015 Sliding Fee Scale 
For Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

 

 

Parent Fees are not a requirement of the First Class Pre-Kindergarten program. However, programs may 
choose to request parent fees (tuition) based on the above guidelines. No child may be refused access to First 
Class Pre-Kindergarten program based on inability to pay. 
 

 

 

Percentage of Poverty Parent Fees Not To Exceed 

0-200% $40/ month 

201-300% $100/ month 

301-400% $200/ month 

>400% $300/ month 



 
 APPENDIX C 

2014-2015 
Alabama First Class Pre-Kindergarten Program 

Family Information Form 
 

Children must be 4 years old by September 1, 2014 to be eligible for the 2014-15 school year 
  

Today’s Date: ______________________________________ 

Classroom Teacher: ___________________________________________ County: ___________________________________________________ 

Child’s Name: First ______________________________Middle _______________________ Last _______________________________________
  

Preferred Name: ______________________________ Child’s Date of Birth: _____________________________________________________
  

Child’s Age: ______________    Gender:   ____ Male  ____ Female   

Language Spoken at Home: _______________________________________  

Child’s Social Security Number: ____________ - _______ -____________ ** 

Race/Ethnicity of Child: (circle one): Black / White / Hispanic / Asian / Other ____________________________________ 

Parent/Guardian Name: First____________________________Middle_______________________Last_______________________________ 

Relationship to child: _________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: ____________________________________________City ______________________________________Zip_____________________________ 

Alternate Address: _______________________________City ______________________________________ Zip_____________________________ 

Phone Number: (_______)________________________________  Alternate Number: 
(_______)_____________________________________ 

Email Address: _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Emergency Contact Name: ____________________________ ________________Phone ______________________________________________ 

Medical / Developmental Diagnoses:  

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name of Medical Insurance Carrier: _____________________________________ Policy #: _______________________________________ 

 

** Failure of a parent or guardian to provide a child’s Social Security Number will not bar a child from being 
enrolled in the First Class Pre-K program. Federal and state laws require The Alabama Department of Children’s 
Affairs and its grantees to protect Social Security Numbers from disclosure to unauthorized parties.  



 
Please answer the following questions: 
 
Is your child currently receiving services from the local school system?   YES  NO 
 If yes, what services?  

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Does your child have a current Individualized Education Plan (IEP)?  YES  NO 
 
Has your child attended Early Head Start or Head Start?   YES  NO 
 ___less than 1 year ___1 year ___more than 1 year 
 
Has your child attended a center based child care program?   YES  NO 
 ___less than 1 year ___1 year ___more than 1 year 
 
Has your child attended a home based child care program?   YES  NO 
 ___less than 1 year ___1 year ___more than 1 year 
 
Has your child participated in a home visiting program?   YES  NO 
 ___less than 1 year ___1 year ___more than 1 year 
 
Has your child attended another preschool program?    YES  NO 
 ___less than 1 year ___1 year ___more than 1 year 

 Are you a parent of a child under 19?       YES  NO 

Do you have any related children under 19 living with you?   YES  NO 

Do you receive Family Assistance benefits (TANF) from the Department of Human Resources?  YES NO 

Do you receive food stamp benefits?      YES  NO 

Do you or your children receive Medicaid benefits or All Kids?  YES  NO 

Does your child(ren), under the age of 19, living with you, participate in the reduced or free lunch program at 
school?          YES  NO 

Do you receive help with the cost of childcare for your child(ren) through the Childcare Management Agency or 
JOBS?           YES  NO 

Does your child(ren)receive WIC?      YES  NO 

  



 
Please locate the number of people in your household and circle the income in that row that is closest to 
your annual (yearly) household income. This information is used to determine the parent fees if you are 
attending a program that charges fees. All information is confidential. 

 

 Household Size  100% 200%  300% 400% 
 1 $11,670 $23,340 $35,010 $46,680 
 2 15,730  31,460 47,190 62,920 
 3 19,790  39,580 59,370 79,160 
 4 23,850  47,700 71,550 95,400 
 5 27,910  55,820 83,730 111,640 
 6 31,970  63,940 95,910 127,880 
 7 36,030  72,060 108,090 144,120 
 8 40,090  80,180 120,270 160,360 

  



 
To Be Completed by Program Staff: 

Enrollment Date: _____________________________________   

Withdrawal/Dismissal Date: ____________________________ 

Reason for Withdrawal/Dismissal: ____________________________________________________________________ 

Parent Fee Amount: $____________ per month 

Disability Information: _________________________________________________________ 

Services Child is Receiving: _____________________________________________________  

 

 

  



 
APPENDIX D 

Alabama First Class Pre-K 
Parent Contract 

 
Class Name: ____________________________________________________ County: _____________________________________ 
 
Teacher: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
The intent is for your child to gain the greatest possible benefits from this preschool experience. As 
space is limited, selection to the program is a privilege that requires parental responsibilities. Each 
parent is asked to carefully consider the following requirements for participating in the program. 
Your signature will acknowledge that you understand and agree to abide by these guidelines. 
 
I agree to: 

1. Attend an orientation session at the beginning of the school year. 
2. Attend one scheduled parent conference each semester resulting in two conferences per school 

year. 
3. Meet with my child’s teacher in my home if requested to do so. 
4. Complete a minimum of 12 hours of parent involvement. 
5. Have my child at school by _________ a.m. (Children are not admitted into the building before ________ 

a.m.) 
6. Pick up my child at ________ p.m. (Children must be picked up no later than ________p.m.) 
7. Send a written excuse to my child’s teacher for every absence. 
8. Assume responsibility for my child’s conduct. 
9. Submit all appropriate forms and documentation to my child’s teacher by given deadlines. 
10. Work cooperatively with my child’s teacher by agreeing to read and follow Section CF 1-4 of the 

OSR Program Guidelines. I understand that these procedures apply to all students and parents in 
the Alabama First Class Pre-K Program and at activities and events sponsored by the OSR Pre-K 
program staff.  
 __________ (Initial here) 

11. Give permission to OSR to follow the academic performance of my child for the next four years 
(pre-K through 3rd grade.) ____________ (Initial here) 

12. Give permission to OSR to photograph and videotape my child engaged in instructional activity 
and to use photos and/or videos on social media and other media for program publicity. 

13. Give permission to use my child’s demographic information for OSR reports and publications (no 
identifiable information will be directly associated with your child.) ____________(Initial here) 

 

I understand that failure to comply with any of these guidelines will result in my child’s dismissal 
from the Alabama First Class Pre-K Program. 

 
_______________________________________ _________________________________________________ _______________ __________ 
 Child’s Name         Parent/Guardian Signature       Date  



 
APPENDIX E 

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
Notice of Receipt and Explanation of Code of Student Behavior 

 
 

I, ________________________________________ (parent/guardian), have received a copy of the Alabama Pre-K Child 

and Family Section (CF 1-4) of the OSR Program Guidelines. I have read and understand these 

procedures. I acknowledge that these procedures apply to all students and parents in the Alabama First 

Class Pre-K program and at activities and events sponsored or supervised by Alabama First Class Pre-K 

program staff. 

My signature below indicates that I agree to adhere to these policies and procedures. 

 

_______________________________________________________________    ______________________________ 
        Class Name                County 
 

_______________________________________________________________ 
        Child’s Name 
   
 
_______________________________________________________________   ______________________________ 
      Parent/Guardian Signature             Date 

 

______________________________________________________________   ______________________________ 
      Parent/Guardian Signature             Date 

 

 
_____________________________________________________________    ______________________________ 
       Teacher Signature               Date 
  



 
APPENDIX F  

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

Health Screenings Permission & Review Form 
 

The Alabama First Class Pre-K program is committed to making sure that pre-K children are healthy. To do this, 
our classrooms offer onsite health screenings at no cost. Please check the screenings you agree to allow medical 
personnel (such as nurses) and trained professionals to administer to your child. You may also choose to opt out of 
your child being screened. 
 
I agree that my child may participate in the following screenings: 
 
_____ Vision 
 
_____ Dental 
 
_____ Hearing 
 
_____ Physical 
 
_____ All of the above 
 
 
 
_____ I do not want my child to participate in any health screenings offered through the Alabama First Class 

 Pre-K program. 
 
 
_________________________________________________________   ____________________________________________________ 

Parent/Guardian Signature              Date 
 
 
_________________________________________________________   ____________________________________________________ 

Teacher Signature                 Date 
 

TO BE COMPLETED AFTER PARENT/GUARDIAN HAS REVIEWED SCREENING RESULTS 

 

I have been given the opportunity to review the results of the health screenings my child received. 

 

_________________________________________________________   ____________________________________________________ 
Parent/Guardian Signature              Date



 
APPENDIX G  

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
CHILD HEALTH SCREENING RECORD 

To be completed by nurse or trained professional (NOT Pre-K teacher or OSR Director) 
 

Class Name:                            County:            ___________________ 
 
Student Name:                               Date of Birth:   ____/  ____/  ____ 
        Last        First           Middle 
 

VISION 

Date          

Check one for each eye: 

Left:  q Pass q Fail 

Right:  q Pass q Fail 

Comments: 

__________________________________ 

_________        

__________________________________ 

Child missed screening due to: 

q  Absent   q Refusal 

q Enrollment after screening 

           
Signature of Screener 
 

           
Date 

 

HEARING 

Date          

Check one for each ear: 

Left:  q Pass q Fail 

Right:  q Pass q Fail 

Comments: 

__________________________________ 

_________        

__________________________________ 

Child missed screening due to: 

q  Absent   q Refusal 

q Enrollment after screening 

           
Signature of Screener 

 
           
Date 

 

DENTAL 

Date          

Results: 

____ Should see a dentist 

____ Normal exam/no concerns 

Additional Notes:     

          

           

______________________________________ 

Child missed screening due to: 

q  Absent   q Refusal 

q Enrollment after screening 

           
Signature of Screener 

 
           
Date 

 

PHYSICAL 

Date _________________________________ 

Results: 

Height: ______________________________ 

Weight: _____________________________ 

Body Mass Index (BMI):  _____________ 

Blood Pressure: ______________________ 

Concerns/Recommendations: 

_________________________________________ 

Child was not screened due to: 

q  Absent   q Refusal 

q Enrollment after screening 

           
Signature of Screener 

 
           
Date   



 
 

APPENDIX H 
Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

Waiver Request Form 
 

Name of Class: _______________________________________________  County:____________________________________________________ 
 

First Class Coach: _______________________________________________  First Class Monitor:_______________________________________ 
 

Teacher: _________________________________________________________ Email: __________________ ___________________________________ 
 
Person Submitting Request: __________________________________ Contact Number: _________________________________________ 
 
Request to:  
 
____ INCREASE class size from ___________ to ___________ (Head Start Programs only) 
 
Classroom square footage: _________________________  
 
Playground square footage: ________________________ 
 
 
____ DECREASE class size from ___________ to ___________ 
 
If decreasing class size, please provide the following information: 
 
Do you have any other waivers to decrease class size?  YES  NO 
 If yes, how many? _______ 
 
Child’s Name: __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Child’s Diagnosis (if applicable): _____________________________________________________________________________  
 
Does the child have a current IEP? YES  NO 
 
If yes, what services are they currently receiving? _________________________________________________________ 
 
Is anyone from the local school system coming into your classroom to assist this child? YES NO   
If so, how often? 
 
If the child does not have an IEP, have the parents agreed to a referral for special education testing? YES  NO 
 
Do you have your OSR Director’s support for this waiver request?   YES  NO 
 
Do you have your First Class Coach’s support for this waiver request?  YES  NO 
 
Do you have your First Class Monitor’s support for this waiver request? YES  NO 
  



 
Please describe specific examples of how this child requires more time from both teachers than other 
children. Please be as detailed as possible. Since we are not able to visit each classroom and observe each 
child we rely on this information to support our decision.  
 
 

 
   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Send this completed form to the First Class Special Needs Coordinator in your region.  



 
APPENDIX I 

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
New Student Checklist 

 
 

_______ Family Information Form 

 

_______ Ages and Stages-3 (ASQ-3)- parent completed 

 

_______ Parent Contract (original to OSR, copy kept on site) 

 

_______ Notice of Receipt and Explanation of Code of Student Behavior  

 

_______  Child Health Screening Record  

 

_______ Add new student to BaselineEdge (mark the old student “withdrawn” and 
enter the withdrawal date) 

 

_______ Add new student to Teaching Strategies GOLD (archive the old student first) 



 
APPENDIX J 

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
Immediate Suspension Notification Form 

 
Suspension in the Alabama First Class Pre-K Program is not used for punishment. The purpose of suspension is to 
give the student time away from the classroom. During this time, the teachers will further assess the situation and 
with the family’s help, develop strategies to help ensure the child’s future success. 

Please send the following information to the First Class Coach: 

Date: _________________________________ 

Student Name: __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Class Name:__________________________________________________ County: ____________________________________________________ 

First Class Coach: _______________________________________________ First Class Monitor: ______________________________________ 

Dates of Suspension: ___________________________________________ Suspension Number: 1 2 3 

Documented Reason(s) for Suspension: 

 

 

 

 

Please list the strategies, agreed upon by the family and teachers, which will be implemented upon the student’s 
return to improve behavior: 

 

 

 

 

 

OSR Program Guidelines Section CF 4.4: An immediate suspension for up to two (2) days can be made at any 
time the Pre-K provider determines a child is causing harm to himself/herself or others; or, a child is unable to 
successfully participate in program activities. Programs can implement immediate suspension (up to two days) on 
a maximum of three occasions per child. No prior approval is needed; however, the First Class Coach must be 
notified the same day such action has been taken using the Suspension Notification Form. 

  



 
APPENDIX K 

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
Parent Orientation Verification and Sign-In 

 
 

 

              

 

 

Number in Attendance: ______________  

Child’s Name Parent/Guardian’s Signature Relation to Child 
1.   
2.   
3.   
4.   
5.   
6.   
7.   
8.   
9.   
10.   
11.   
12.   
13.   
14.   
15.   
16.   
17.   
18.   
19.   
20.   
 

Additional Information: 

  

Class Name: _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
County: _________________________________ Teacher: ___________________________________ 
 
Orientation Date: _________________________ Number of Hours: __________        
       



 
APPENDIX L 

Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 
Suggested Topics to Cover During Parent Orientation 

 
 

1. Explanation of First Class Pre-K 

2. Local program policies and procedures (recommended to be in writing) 

3. How to complete the required paperwork 

4. What a developmentally appropriate classroom for 4 year-olds look like 

5. Parent completed Ages and Stages (ASQ-3) Developmental screener 

6. What parents should expect from the program 

7. What program staff will expect from the parents ( First Class Pre-K parent 

contract) 

8. Information about parent involvement opportunities 

9. Anticipated outcomes of participation in the program – Teaching Strategies 

GOLD Assessment, lesson planning, intentional teaching 

10. Code of student behavior (Give parents a copy of Section CF 1-5 of OSR 

Program Guidelines and have them sign form in Appendix I) 

11. Upcoming events and deadlines 

  



 

APPENDIX M 
OSR First Class Pre-Kindergarten Program 

Individual Parent/Family Involvement Log 
 

 
Parent Name:________________________________________________________ Child’s Name:______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Class Name:______________________________________________________ County:____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Teacher:_____________________________ ________________________________ 
 
 

Date Activity Time In Time Out Total # 
Hours 

Teacher 
Initials 
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APPENDIX N  

Alabama Pre-Kindergarten Program 
Code of Alabama for the Office of School Readiness 

 

Alabama Office of School Readiness, Code of Alabama, Section 26-24-23,24,25 

Duties of office. 

The Office of School Readiness shall do all of the following: 

(1) Establish criteria and administer such programs and services as may be necessary for the operation and 
management of a voluntary prekindergarten program. 

(2) Administer such programs and services as may be necessary for the operation and management of preschool 
and certain child development programs coordinating with the Department of Education for the inclusion of 
preschool special education. 

(3) Ensure that the prekindergarten program provides a developmentally appropriate preschool program 
emphasizing growth in language and literacy, math concepts, science, arts, physical development, and personal and 
social competence. 

(4) Receive and disperse any funds appropriated to the office from the Legislature for the establishment, operation, 
and administration of the prekindergarten program. The budget of the office shall be part of the Department of 
Children's Affairs. 

(5) Assist local units of administration in this state so as to assure the proliferation of services under this article. 

(6) Coordinate with the regulatory division for the licensing of child care centers and with the administration of the 
United States child and adult care food programs at the child care centers participating in the prekindergarten 
program. 

(7) Issue annual reports to the Governor and the Legislature concerning the administration and operation of the 
prekindergarten program. 

(8) Provide leadership for enhancement of school readiness in this state by aggressively establishing a unified 
approach to the state's efforts toward enhancement of school readiness. In support of this effort, the office may 
develop and implement specific strategies that address the state's school readiness programs. 

(9) Safeguard the effective use of federal, state, local, and private resources to achieve the highest possible level of 
school readiness for the state's children. 

(10) Provide technical assistance to local programs. 

(11) Assess gaps in services. 
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(12) By January 2001, adopt a system for measuring school readiness that provides objective data regarding the 
expectations for school readiness, and establish a method for collecting the data and guidelines for using the data. 
The measurement, the data collection, and the use of the data must serve the statewide school readiness goals. The 
criteria for determining which data to collect should be the usefulness of the data to state policymakers and local 
programs' administrators in administering programs and allocating state funds, and must include the tracking of 
school readiness system information back to individual school readiness programs to assist in determining 
program effectiveness. 

(Act 2000-613, p. 1230, §5.) 

Entities that may participate. 

The following entities may voluntarily, but shall not be required to, participate in the programs and services 
administered by the Office of School Readiness: 

(1) Public schools. 

(2) Private schools. 

(3) Churches. 

(4) Existing public prekindergarten programs. 

(5) Existing private prekindergarten programs. 

(6) Existing nonprofit prekindergarten programs. 

(7) Any other entities or programs approved by the office. 

(Act 2000-613, p. 1230, §6.) 

Collaboration on programs. 

As additional funds become available, all programs within each county participating in school readiness shall 
collaborate on early education and child care programs that are funded with state and/or federal funding 
including, but not limited to, adult and community education programs, Even-Start literacy programs, 
prekindergarten early intervention programs, Head Start programs, programs offered by public and private 
providers of child care, migrant prekindergarten programs, Title 1 programs, subsidized child care programs, and 
teen parenting programs, together with any additional funds appropriated or obtained for this section. These 
programs shall be components of the integrated school readiness program. 

(Act 2000-613, p. 1230, §7.) 
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APPENDIX O 
Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

Classroom Inventory and Purchase List 
 

Class: _____________________________________________________   County: __________________________________________ 
 
Teacher: __________________________________________________ Email: ___________________________________________ 
 
First Class Monitor: _____________________________________  
 
NOTE: Individual non-consumable items over $300.00 must be pre-approved by the assigned First Class Monitor 
PRIOR to purchasing.  

Equipment/Materials/Supplies 

 

Company Quantity 

  

Total 

 

Received 

First Class 
Monitor’s 
initials & 

date 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

Approved By: ___________________________________ ________________ Date: _______________________________________ 
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APPENDIX P 
Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

Alabama’s Mandatory Child Abuse and Neglect Law 
 
 

CODE OF ALABAMA 
TITLE 26. INFANTS AND INCOMPETENTS. CHAPTER 14. REPORTING OF CHILD ABUSE 

OR NEGLECT. 
 
 
 
§ 26-14-1. Definitions. 
For the purposes of this chapter, the following terms 
shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to them 
by this section: 
(1) Abuse. Harm or threatened harm to a child's 
health or welfare. Harm or threatened harm to a 
child's health or welfare can occur through 
nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse 
or attempted sexual abuse or sexual exploitation or 
attempted sexual exploitation. "Sexual abuse" includes 
the employment, use, persuasion, inducement, 
enticement, or coercion of any child to engage in, or 
having a child assist any other person to engage in 
any sexually explicit conduct or any simulation of the 
conduct for the purpose of producing any visual 
depiction of the conduct; or the rape, molestation, 
prostitution, or other form of sexual exploitation of 
children, or incest with children as those acts are 
defined by Alabama law. "Sexual exploitation" 
includes allowing, permitting, or encouraging a child 
to engage in prostitution and allowing, permitting, 
encouraging or engaging in the obscene or 
pornographic photographing, filming, or depicting of a 
child for commercial purposes. 
(2) Neglect. Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a 
child, including the failure to provide adequate food, 
medical treatment, supervision, clothing, or shelter. 
(3) Child. A person under the age of 18 years. 
(4) Duly constituted authority. The chief of police of 
a municipality or municipality and county; or the 
sheriff, if the observation of child abuse or neglect is 
made in an unincorporated territory; or the 
Department of Human Resources; or any person, 
organization, corporation, group, or agency 
authorized and designated by the Department of 
Human Resources to receive reports of child abuse 
and neglect; provided, that a "duly constituted 
authority" shall not include an agency involved in 
the acts or omissions of the reported child abuse or 
neglect. 

§ 26-14-2. Purpose of chapter. 
In order to protect children whose health and 
welfare may be adversely affected through abuse 
and neglect, the legislature hereby provides for the 
reporting of such cases to the appropriate 
authorities. It is the intent of the legislature that, as a 
result of such efforts, and through the cooperation of 
state, county, local agencies and divisions of 
government, protective services shall be made 
available in an effort to prevent further abuses and 
neglect, to safeguard and enforce the general welfare 
of such children, and to encourage cooperation 
among the states in dealing with the problems of 
child abuse. 
§ 26-14-3. Mandatory reporting. 
(a) All hospitals, clinics, sanitariums, doctors, 
physicians, surgeons, medical examiners, coroners, 
dentists, osteopaths, optometrists, chiropractors, 
podiatrists, nurses, school teachers and officials, 
peace officers, law enforcement officials, 
pharmacists, social workers, day care workers or 
employees, mental health professionals, members 
of the clergy as defined in Rule 505 of the Alabama 
Rules of Evidence, or any other person called upon 
to render aid or medical assistance to any child, 
when the child is known or suspected to be a victim 
of child abuse or neglect, shall be required to report, 
or cause a report to be made of the same, orally, 
either by telephone or direct communication 
immediately, followed by a written report, to a duly 
constituted authority. 
(b) When an initial report is made to a law 
enforcement official, the official subsequently shall 
inform the Department of Human Resources of the 
report so that the department can carry out its 
responsibility to provide protective services when 
deemed appropriate to the respective child or 
children. 
(c) When the Department of Human Resources 
receives initial reports of suspected abuse or neglect 
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involving discipline or corporal punishment 
committed in a public or private school or suspected 
abuse or neglect in a state- operated child residential 
facility, the Department of Human Resources shall 
transmit a copy of school reports to the law 
enforcement agency and residential facility reports to 
the law enforcement agency and the operating state 
agency which shall conduct the investigation. When 
the investigation is completed, a written report of the 
completed investigation shall contain the information 
required by the State Department of Human 
Resources which shall be submitted by the law 
enforcement agency or the state agency to the county 
department of human resources for entry into the 
state's central registry. 
(d) Nothing in this chapter shall preclude interagency 
agreements between departments of human 
resources, law enforcement, and other state agencies 
on procedures for investigating reports of suspected 
child abuse and neglect to provide for departments of 
human resources to assist law enforcement and other 
state agencies in these investigations. 
(e) Any provision of this section to the contrary 
notwithstanding, if any agency or authority 
investigates any report pursuant to this section and 
the report does not result in a conviction, the agency 
or authority shall expunge any record of the 
information or report and any data developed from 
the record. 
(f) Subsection (a) to the contrary notwithstanding, a 
member of the clergy shall not be required to report 
information gained solely in a confidential 
communication privileged pursuant to Rule 505 of the 
Alabama Rules of Evidence which communication 
shall continue to be privileged as provided by law. 
§ 26-14-5. Contents of reports. 
The reports provided for in this chapter shall state, if 
known, the name of the child, his whereabouts, the 
names and addresses of the parents, guardian or 
caretaker and the character and extent of his injuries. 
The written report shall also contain, if known, any 
evidence of previous injuries to said child and any 
other pertinent information which might establish the 
cause of such injury or injuries, and the identity of the 
person or persons responsible for the same. 
§ 26-14-6. Temporary protective custody. 
A police officer, a law enforcement official or a 
designated employee of the State or County 
Department of Human Resources may take a child 
into protective custody, or any person in charge of a 

hospital or similar institution or any physician 
treating a child may keep that child in his custody, 
without the consent of the parent or guardian, 
whether or not additional medical treatment is 
required, if the circumstances or conditions of the 
child are such that continuing in his place of 
residence or in the care and custody of the parent, 
guardian, custodian or other person responsible for 
the child's care presents an imminent danger to that 
child's life or health. However, such official shall 
immediately notify the court having jurisdiction over 
juveniles of such actions in taking the child into 
protective custody; provided, that such custody shall 
not exceed 72 hours and that a court of competent 
jurisdiction and the Department of Human Resources 
shall be notified immediately in order that child-
protective proceedings may be initiated. During such 
period of temporary custody, the director of the 
county department of human resources may give or 
cause to be given effective consent for medical, 
dental, health and hospital services for any abused or 
neglected child. 
§ 26-14-6.1. Duties and responsibilities for 
investigation of reports. 
The duty and responsibility for the investigation of 
reports of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be 
as follows: 
(1) Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect 
involving disciplinary or corporal punishment 
committed in a public or private school or 
kindergarten shall be investigated by law 
enforcement agencies. 
(2) Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect 
committed in a state-operated child residential facility 
shall be investigated by law enforcement agencies. 
(3) All other reports of suspected child abuse and 
neglect shall be investigated by the Department of 
Human Resources. 
§ 26-14-7. Duties of Department of Human 
Resources. 
(a) The State or County Department of Human 
Resources shall make a thorough investigation 
promptly upon either the oral or written report. The 
primary purpose of such an investigation shall be the 
protection of the child. 
(b) The investigation, to the extent that is reasonably 
possible, shall include: 
(1) The nature, extent and cause of the child abuse or 
neglect; 
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(2) The identity of the person responsible therefor; 
(3) The names and conditions of other children in 
the home; 
(4) An evaluation of the parents or person responsible 
for the care of the child; 
(5) The home environment and the relationship of the 
child or children to the parents or other persons 
responsible for their care; and 
(6) All other data deemed pertinent. 
(c) The investigation may include a visit to the child's 
home, an interview with the subject child, and may 
include a physical, psychological or psychiatric 
examination of any child or children in that home. If 
the admission to the home, school or any other place 
that the child may be, or permission of the parent or 
other persons responsible for the child or children, for 
the physical, psychological or psychiatric examination, 
cannot be obtained, then a court of competent 
jurisdiction, upon cause shown, shall order the 
parents or persons responsible and in charge of any 
place where the child may be to allow the interview, 
examinations and investigation. If, before the 
examination is complete, the opinion of the 
investigators is that immediate removal is necessary 
to protect a child or children from further abuse or 
neglect, a court of competent jurisdiction, on petition 
by the investigators and with good cause being shown, 
shall issue an order for temporary removal and 
custody. 
(d) The county department of human resources shall 
make a complete written report of the investigation, 
together with its recommendations. Such reports 
may be made available to the appropriate court, the 
district attorney and the appropriate law 
enforcement agency upon request. The county 
department of human resources shall make a 
written report or case summary, together with 
services offered and accepted to the state's central 
registry on forms supplied by the registry for that 
purpose. 
§ 26-14-7.1. Due process rights for persons 
under investigation by department. 
Any person who comes under investigation by the 
Department of Human Resources for the abuse or 
neglect of a child or children and who is employed 
by, serves as a volunteer for, holds a license or 
certificate for, or is connected with any facility, 
agency, or home which cares for and controls any 
children and which is licensed, approved, or certified 
by the state, operated as a state facility, or any 

public, private, or religious facility or agency that 
may be exempt from licensing procedures shall be 
granted the following due process rights by the 
Department of Human Resources: 
(1) The department shall notify the alleged 
perpetrator that an investigation has commenced 
against him after such investigation has officially 
begun in accordance with written policies 
established by the Department of Human Resources. 
The notice shall be in writing and shall state the 
name of the child or children allegedly abused, the 
date or dates that the alleged abuse is thought to 
have occurred, and the substance of the person's 
actions which are alleged to be abusive. The 
department shall establish and maintain written 
policies outlining the specifics of such notification 
and other policies deemed necessary and prudent by 
the department to inform the alleged perpetrator of 
his rights and the procedures utilized by the 
department involving child abuse and neglect 
investigations. 
(2) If the department conducts an investigation 
relating to child abuse/neglect, the alleged 
perpetrator shall be notified of the investigator's 
conclusions. 
(3) If the department's investigators conclude that 
child abuse/neglect is indicated, an investigative 
hearing may be held to confirm or reject the 
investigators' conclusions. 
(4) The alleged perpetrator shall be given ten 
departmental working days from the receipt of the 
notification of the investigator's conclusions to 
request a hearing, and such request must be in 
writing. If no such request is received in the 
department's office within ten departmental working 
days, the alleged perpet rator's opportunity for a 
hearing shall be considered waived by the 
department. 
(5) The employer of an alleged perpetrator shall not 
be notified of the investigator's conclusions prior to a 
hearing or its waiver unless, in the opinion of the 
department's investigators, a child is in danger of 
abuse or neglect; in such case, any person in a 
position to discover, prevent or protect the child from 
his abuse or neglect may be informed of information 
gathered in the investigation prior to a requested 
investigative hearing for the alleged perpetrator. 
(6) The alleged perpetrator shall be notified of the 
date, time, and place of any investigative hearing. 
Such hearing shall not be open to the public. 
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(7) The alleged perpetrator shall have the following 
rights at any departmental investigative hearing: 
a. The right to present his case himself or be 
represented by legal counsel or any other person. 
b. The right to present written evidence, oral 
testimony, and witnesses. 
c. The right to be provided by the department a short 
and plain written statement of the matters asserted 
which will be presented at the hearing. 
d. The right to review and copy at cost any written or 
recorded statement made by the alleged perpetrator 
to departmental personnel in the course of the child 
abuse/neglect investigation. This request must be 
made prior to the date for the hearing. 
e. The right to review and copy at cost, before or 
during the hearing, the written material and other 
evidence in possession of the department which will 
be placed into evidence at the hearing. 
f. The right to inspect any exculpatory evidence 
which may be in the possession of departmental 
investigators, and the right to be informed of such 
evidence if known by departmental investigators 
before the hearing; provided, that a request for 
such evidence is made at least five working days 
prior to the date set for the hearing. 
g. The right to review and copy at cost all non- 
confidential department documents pertinent to the 
case, including written policies and rights. 
h. The right to cross-examine witnesses testifying at 
the hearing. 
i. The right to request issuance of subpoenas to 
witnesses and compel attendance. This request must 
be received no later than ten calendar days prior to 
the hearing, unless a shorter time is agreed upon by 
the hearing officer. 
j. The right to review and copy at cost all documents 
in the official hearing file maintained by the hearing 
officer. 
k. The right to have a hearing officer appointed who 
shall be disinterested, fair, and impartial. 
(8) The Department of Human Resources or its 
investigative hearing officers shall have the power 
and authority to issue subpoenas to compel 
attendance by and production of documents from 
any witness. Subpoenas may be served in the same 
manner as subpoenas issued out of any circuit court. 
Where any witness has been summoned by the 
Department of Human Resources, its commissioner 

or any of his agents, and said witness refuses to 
appear, testify, or produce records or documents as 
requested; then any circuit court in this state, or any 
judge thereof, on application, may issue an 
attachment for suchperson and compel him to 
comply with such order and the court or judge shall 
have power to punish for contempt in cases of 
disobedience of such order. 
(9) The Department of Human Resources shall 
establish policies and written guidelines for the 
conduct and procedures involved in an investigative 
hearing. At such hearing, the fact that there was a 
finding by a juvenile court judge or by a criminal 
court that child abuse or neglect has occurred shall be 
presumptive evidence that the report should be 
marked indicated. 
(10) The hearing officer shall notify the alleged 
perpetrator in writing of the hearing officer's decision. 
(11) Results of investigative hearings: 
a. If the hearing officer concludes that child abuse 
and/or neglect is "indicated," such findings and 
evidence shall be filed with the appropriate district 
attorney and other law enforcement officials which 
the department may deem necessary. 
b. The alleged perpetrator's employer or 
licensing/certifying agency or group may also be 
notified of the "indicated" findings. Such notification 
shall be marked "Confidential" and "To Be Used Only 
For The Purpose Of Discovery Or Preventing Child 
Abuse." The department shall establish written 
policies for notification of employers, prospective 
employers and licensing/certifying agencies or 
groups. 
§ 26-14-7.2. Child denied medical treatment 
due to parents' religious beliefs. 
(a) When an investigation of child abuse or neglect by 
the Department of Human Resources determines that 
a parent or legal guardian legitimately practicing his 
or her religious beliefs has not provided specific 
medical treatment for a child, the parent or legal 
guardian shall not be considered a negligent parent or 
guardian for that reason alone. This exception shall 
not preclude a court from ordering that medical 
services be provided to the child when the child's 
health requires it. 
(b) The department may, in any case, pursue any 
legal remedies, including the initiation of legal 
proceedings in a court of competent jurisdiction, as 
may be necessary to provide medical care or 
treatment for a child when the care or treatment is 
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necessary to prevent or remedy serious harm to the 
child, or to prevent the withholding of medically 
indicated treatments from disabled infants with life-
threatening conditions. Upon application by the 
department, the court may issue prelitigation or 
pretrial discovery orders for persons, medical 
records, and other documents or materials. 
§ 26-14-8. Statewide central registry. 
(a) For the purposes of this section, the following 
words shall have the following meanings, 
respectively: 
(1) Indicated. When credible evidence and 
professional judgment substantiates that an alleged 
perpetrator is responsible for child abuse or neglect. 
(2) Not indicated. When credible evidence and 
professional judgment does not substantiate that an 
alleged perpetrator is responsible for child abuse or 
neglect. 
(b) The Department of Human Resources shall 
establish a statewide central registry for reports of 
child abuse and neglect made pursuant to this 
chapter. The central registry shall contain, but shall 
not be limited to: 
(1) All information in the written report; 
(2) Record of the final disposition of the report, 
including services offered and services accepted; 
(3) The names and identifying data, dates and 
circumstances of any persons requesting or 
receiving information from the registry; provided, 
however, that requests for information and 
responses where no report exists may be destroyed 
after three years from the date of the request; 
(4) The plan for rehabilitative treatment; and 
(5) Any other information which might be helpful 
in furthering the purposes of this chapter. 
(c) The Department of Human Resources shall 
establish and enforce reasonable rules and 
regulations governing the custody, use and 
preservation of the reports and records of child 
abuse and neglect. Child abuse and neglect reports 
and records shall be limited to the purposes for 
which they are furnished and by the provisions of 
law under which they may be furnished. The reports 
and records of child abuse and neglect and related 
information or testimony shall be confidential, and 
shall not be used or disclosed for any purposes 
other than: 
(1) To permit their use to prevent or to discover abuse 

or neglect of children through the information 
contained therein, except reports or records in cases 
determined to be "not indicated" shall not be used or 
disclosed for purposes of employment or other 
background checks; or 
(2) For investigation of child abuse or neglect by 
the police or other law enforcement agency; or 
(3) For use by a grand jury upon its determination 
that access to such reports and records is necessary 
in the conduct of its official business; or 
(4) For use by a court where it finds that such 
information is necessary for the determination of 
an issue before the court; or 
(5) For use by any person engaged in bona fide 
research who is authorized to have access to such 
information by the Commissioner of the Department 
of Human Resources; or 
(6) For use by any person authorized by a court to act 
as a representative for an abused or neglected child 
who is the subject of a report; or 
(7) For use by a physician who has before him a 
child whom he reasonably suspects may be abused or 
neglected; or 
(8) For use by an attorney or guardian ad litem in 
representing or defending a child or its parents or 
guardians in a court proceeding related to abuse or 
neglect of said child; or 
(9) For use by federal, state, or local governmental 
entities, social service agencies of another state, or 
any agent of such entities, having a need for the 
information in order to carry out their 
responsibilities under law to protect children from 
abuse and neglect; or 
(10) For use by child abuse citizen review or quality 
assurance or multidisciplinary review panels; or 
(11) For use by child fatality review panels; or 
(12) For public disclosure of the findings or 
information about the case of child abuse or neglect 
which has resulted in a child fatality or near fatality; 
the term "near fatality" means an act that, as 
certified by a physician, places the child in serious or 
critical condition. Information identifying by name 
persons other than the victim shall not be disclosed. 
(d) The names of persons or information in the 
investigative report placed on the state's central 
registry which may be made available to the alleged 
perpetrator's employer, prospective employer, or 
others are those cases that the Department of 
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Human Resources or the investigative hearing officer 
has determined child abuse or neglect to be 
indicated. 
(e) In the case of any child abuse or neglect 
investigation which is determined to be "not 
indicated," the alleged perpetrator may request after 
five years from the completion of the investigation 
that his or her name be expunged from the central 
registry so long as the Department of Human 
Resources has received no further reports 
concerning the alleged perpetrator during said five 
years, at which time the department shall expunge 
said name. 
(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed as 
restricting the ability of a department to refuse to 
disclose identifying information concerning the 
individual initiating a report or complaint alleging 
suspected instances of child abuse or neglect, except 
that the department may not refuse such a 
disclosure in cases in which a court orders such 
disclosure after the court has reviewed, in camera, 
the record of the department related to the report 
or complaint and has determined that it has reason 
to believe that the person making the report 
knowingly made a false report. 
(g) Any person receiving reports or records of child 
abuse or neglect or related information under this 
section shall maintain the confidentiality of the 
documents and information and not disclose it 
except as authorized by law. 
(h) Any violation of the provision of confidentiality 
shall be a Class A misdemeanor. 
§ 26-14-9. Immunity from liability for actions 
under chapter. 
Any person, firm, corporation or official, including 
members of a multidisciplinary child protection team, 
quality assurance team, child death review team, or 
other authorized case review team or panel, by 
whatever designation, participating in the making of a 
good faith report in an investigation or case review 

authorized under this chapter or other law or 
department practice or in the removal of a child 
pursuant to this chapter, or participating in a judicial 
proceeding resulting therefrom, shall, in so doing, be 
immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might 
otherwise be incurred or imposed. 
§ 26-14-10. Doctrine of privileged 
communications not grounds for exclusion of 
evidence as to child's injuries. 
The doctrine of privileged communication, with the 
exception of the attorney-client privilege, shall not be 
a ground for excluding any evidence regarding a 
child's injuries or the cause thereof in any judicial 
proceeding resulting from a report pursuant to this 
chapter. 
§ 26-14-11. Appointment of attorney to 
represent child. 
In every case involving an abused or neglected child 
which results in a judicial proceeding, an attorney 
shall be appointed to represent the child in such 
proceedings. Such attorney will represent the rights, 
interests, welfare and well-being of the child, and 
serve as guardian ad litem for said child. 
§ 26-14-12. Establishment of regulations by 
department of human resources. 
The State Department of Human Resources may 
establish such regulations as may be necessary to 
implement this chapter and to encourage cooperation 
with other states in exchanging reports to effect a 
national registration system. 
§ 26-14-13. Penalty for failure to make 
required report. 
Any person who shall knowingly fail to make the 
report required by this chapter shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be punished by a sentence 
of not more than six months' imprisonment or a 
fine of not more than $500.00. 
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APPENDIX Q 
Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

Children with Special Needs 
 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Terminology 

A child with a disability is defined in IDEA as a child with at least one of ten specifically defined physical, emotional, 
learning or cognitive disabilities and who, by reason of the condition, needs “special education” and “related 
services.” At the discretion of the state, the definition may also include children ages three through nine or any 
subset of that age range, which are experiencing developmental delays. 

Special Education is specially designed instruction to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability.  

A child with a disability is entitled to FAPE, a free appropriate public education. That public education should be 
provided in the LRE, the least restrictive environment. The term FAPE is defined in pre-K through secondary 
school special education as related services that are provided at public expense, without charge to the parent, 
under public supervision and direction; meeting the state's educational standards; and addressing the 
individualized educational needs of the student. IDEA's least restrictive environment directive requires the 
inclusion of children with disabilities, in the general education program to the maximum extent appropriate. 

An LEA, local education agency, is responsible for the identification and evaluation of children with disabilities and 
for the provision of FAPE to children found to be eligible for special education and related services.  

Benefits of High Quality Pre-K for Children with Disabilities 

Rigorous educational research consistently shows that at-risk children who attend high-quality pre-k programs 
demonstrate gains in early learning skills and throughout their K-12 years. Significantly, research also shows that 
children with disabilities who attend pre-K in inclusive environments demonstrate gains in social skills, self-
regulation, language development, and cognition. Moreover, integrating children with disabilities into typical pre-K 
programs does not simply improve the educational experience for the children with disabilities – pre-K classrooms 
that utilize inclusive materials and curricula, along with appropriate supports and services, provide social and 
educational benefits to the general pre-K population as well. 

Eligibility of Children Receiving Special Education Services in the Alabama First Class Pre-K program 

A child who meets the eligibility requirements for the Alabama First Class Pre-K program and is also eligible for 
special education and/or related services under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) will not be 
denied access to the Alabama First Class Pre-K program. Therefore, dual enrollment in special education and the 
Alabama First Class Pre-K program is permitted. Children should receive services and supports in accordance with 
their IEP. First Class teachers should seek to be on classroom children’s IEP committees and obtain copies of the 
children’s IEP in order to incorporate suggestions into class instruction. 

If a pre-K provider suspects that a child has a disability or significant developmental delay, they are responsible for 
talking to the parent regarding referring that child to the appropriate local education agency (LEA) so that the child 
may be tested for eligibility to receive special education services. For contact information to local special education 
coordinators contact the Alabama State Department of Education at 334-242-9700 or www.alsde.edu. 

  

http://www.alsde.edu/
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APPENDIX R 

Alabama First Class Pre-Kindergarten Program 

Request for On-Site Special Needs Intervention 

 

Person Submitting Request: ____________________________________________ Date: _____________________________________________ 

Class Name: _______________________________________________________________  County: __________________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________  Phone: ___________________________________________ 

Teacher: __________________________________________________________________  Email: ___________________________________________ 

First Class Coach: ________________________________________________________ Approval for this request?  YES   NO 

First Class Monitor: ______________________________________________________ Approval for this request?  YES   NO 

Child: ______________________________________________________________________  DOB: ____________________________________________ 

Please answer the following questions and provide as much detail as possible. If the child has been suspended, 
please include copies of the suspension forms. 

1. Does the child have any medical and/or educational diagnoses?  YES  NO 
 

2. If yes, please list: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 

3. Does the child have an Individualized Education Plan (IEP)?   YES  NO 
 

4. If yes, what services is the child currently receiving? 

 
 

 
5. Is the child receiving any services in the classroom?     YES  NO 

 
6. If yes, what services (including frequency & duration): 

 
 
 

7. Reason for request: 
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8. Attempted interventions: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

9. Child’s response to interventions attempted: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
10. How have the parents/guardians been involved? 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
11. What is your goal for this intervention? 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
This form should be sent to the First Class Special Needs Coordinator in your region. 

 



 

33 
 

APPENDIX S 
Alabama First Class Pre-K Program 

Required Equipment, Materials, and Supplies 
 

Priority One: (must be included in all classrooms the first year of operation) 

Blocks: 
Types of Blocks:  

• Unit Blocks (starter set)  
• cardboard bricks/hollow 

blocks 
 
 

Small building materials:  
• legos  
• bristle blocks 
• building logs 
• small wood table top 

blocks 
 

Accessories:  
• small vehicles (cars and 

trucks) 
• multi-cultural people 

figures 
• career people figures 
• traffic signs 
• animal figures 
• street rug 

 
Furniture: 

• 2 shelves suggested 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Math: 
Counting:  

• counting bears/ 
animals 

• dominos 
• counting games 

Written Number:  
• magnet numbers 
• number bingo 
• tactile number 

templates 
• number peg puzzles 
• clock (for child play) 

Measuring:  
• chain links 
• timers 
• balance scale 
• tape measure 
• thermometers 
• yardstick 

Comparing Quantities:  
• pegs and peg boards 
• sorting trays 
• nesting cups 
• playing cards 
• dominoes 
• 1 inch wooden cubes 
• 1 inch tiles 
• unifix or snap cubes 

Shapes: 
• pattern blocks and 

cards 
• attribute blocks 
• lacing shapes 
• stringing shape beads 
• tangrams and puzzles 
• geoboards 
• puzzles with different 

geometric shapes 
• magnetic shapes 

Furniture: 
•  shelf 

 
 
 

Fine Motor:  
Manipulatives:  

• gears 
• magnatiles 
• tweezer activities 
• tinker toys 
• connecting tubes 
• interlocking 

manipulatives 
• beads and strings 
• lacing cards 
• magnetic blocks 
• links 
 

Puzzles:  
• puzzles with many 

different subjects and # 
of pieces 

• floor puzzles 
• knobbed and knob less 

 
Furniture: 

• 1 shelf with bins 
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Nature and Science: 
Collections Natural Objects:  

• Rocks and minerals 
• leaves 
• seeds 
• acorns 
• pine cones 
• shells 
• feathers 
• nuts 
• sticks 
• spices 
 

Living Things:  
• models of insects  
• models of animals 
• live plants 
• aquarium (suggested) 
• bug boxes 
• root view farm 

 
Science Tools:  

• thermometers 
• flashlight 
• prisms (plastic) 
• unbreakable mirrors 
• binoculars 
• maps and globes  
• color paddles  
• various types of scales 
• measuring cups & spoons 
• linear measuring devices  
• Stop watch 
• Hour glass 
• magnifiers 
 

Books, Games & Toys:  
• books (realistic pictures 

appropriate for Pre-K) 
• science matching cards/ 

sequence cards 
• games (realistic and fact-

based) 
• realistic animals 
• realistic puzzles 
 

Activities:  
• Plastic tubs for soil & sand 
•  water experiments  
• sink/float 

Dramatic Play: 
Dramatic Play Furnishings:  

• play kitchen set  
• table and chairs 
• rug (if carpet isn’t 

available) 
• doll furniture 
• dress up clothes 

storage 
• mirror 
 

Dramatic Play Props:  
• dolls (multi-cultural) 
• play food from 

different cultures 
• cash register 

home props such as:  
• dishes, pots and pans, 

eating and cooking 
utensils, food 
containers, plastic 
food sets, empty food 
containers, small 
appliances with cords 
cut, mirror, iron, 
steering wheel, place 
mats, measuring cups, 
spoons, graduated 
size mixing bowls, 
glasses, broom, mop, 
vacuum cleaner, hair 
dryer, curling iron, 
magazines, telephone, 
cell phones and 
telephone books 

 
 Dress-up Clothes: 

• community helper 
costumes 

• cultural costumes 
Female gender specific such 
as:  

• shoes 
• purses 
• scarves 
• dresses 
• skirts 
• jewelry 

Male gender specific such as:  
• ties 
• wallets 

Library:  
Wide variety of children’s 
books: 
 (Minimum of 36 books, either 
classroom or from a library) 

• rhyming  
• alliteration 
• predictable 
• informational/ factual 
• classics 
• award winners 
• nursery rhymes & 

poetry 
• fantasy 
• nature & science 
• race/culture 
• people  
• abilities 
• animals  
• variety of big books 

(minimum of 6)  
• Class/child made books  
• photo books of class 

trips or events 
 

Library Area Furnishings:  
• Pillows 
• rug 
• child-sized rocker, 

child-sized sofa and 
chair or beanbag chairs 

 
Additional Language Materials:  

• alphabet, beginning 
sounds and rhyming 
word puzzles 

• 3-D letters 
• letter templates 
• felt story board pieces 
• puppets 

 
Furniture: 

• shelf for books 
• storage for listening 

center 
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•  magnetic testing 
 
Furniture: 

• Shelf 

• shoes 
• jacket 
• briefcase 
 

Theme Related Props/ 
Curriculum Related 
Literature, Photos, Artifacts, 
etc. (should be changed out 
on a regular basis) 

• toolbox 
• doctor’s kit 

Writing: 
Writing Materials:  

• variety of paper  
• clipboards 
• magnadoodle 
• journaling/notebook pads 
• writing materials & tools 

to be placed in all centers 
• dry erase boards  
• chalk boards 

 
Suggested Materials: 

• catalogs 
• office forms 
• “junk” mail 
• telephones 
• message pads 
• guest checks 
• receipt books 
• order forms 
• envelopes 
 

Writing Tools:  
• pencils 
• pens  
• markers 
• crayons 
• chalk 
• erasers 
• pencil sharpener 
• dry erase 

markers/crayons 
• old computer keyboards 
• children’s name cards 
• word/picture cards 
• letter stencils 
• letter stamps 

 
Furniture: 

Art Materials: 
Drawing:  

• crayons (“fat” & 
small) 

• markers 
• colored pencils 
• sidewalk chalk 
• white & colored 

drawing chalk 
Paints:  

• variety of paint 
(tempera, finger, 
watercolor, glitter, 
paint dots) 

• paint brushes 
• sponges 
• sponge brushes 
• paint cups  
• art aprons 

Paper:  
• variety of sizes, 

shapes, weight, 
texture and colors 

3D:  
• Play dough/clay  
• clay cutters and 

other clay equipment 
• styrofoam 
• cardboard tubes 
• boxes 
• bottles 
• popsicle sticks 
• wood pieces 

Collage:  
• sequins and spangles 
• paper shapes 
• yarn, string, ribbon, 

lace 
• felt 
• paper and fabric 

Music and Movement: 
Instruments:  

• CD Player/Listening 
Device 

• Children’s musical 
instruments school-
made or purchased (set 
of 10) 

 
Music CDs /IPod/IPad/MP3/ 
Tapes:  

• Variety of music 
tapes/CDs for children 
(minimum of 10) 

 
Dance props:  

• scarves 
• ribbon rings 
• hats 
• tutus 
• streamers 

 
Furniture: 

• shelf for storage 
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• writing center desk or 
table/chairs 

• shelf for supplies 
 

 

scraps 
• wallpaper samples 
• wiggly eyes 
• chenille pipe cleaners 
• glitter 
• pom-poms 

Tools:  
• stencils  
• glue 
• scissors 
• hole punchers 
• tape i.e. masking, 

clear & colored 
• staplers 

 
Furniture: 

• table and chairs 
• double easel 
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Sand/Water Table (Sensory) 
• sand table 
• water table 
• Variety of tools 

(buckets, cups, 
measuring cups, sifter, 
funnel, tubing, sponges, 
small cars, trucks, 
squeeze bottles, spray 
bottles, boats, 
dishwashing liquid, 
variety of molds 
including alphabet and 
numbers) 

 
 
Required Furniture: 

• Cots with fitted sheets 
• Cubbies (one per child) 
• Large rug for whole 

group area 
• Carpet for reading area 

 
 

Gross Motor: 
• balls 
• parachute 
• riding toys (tricycles, 

scooters, other riding toys) 
• helmets 
• hoops 
• large balls/bats 
• short basketball goal 
• ring toss 
• wagons 
• equipment that stimulates a 

variety of skills ( balancing, 
climbing) 

 
Safety Equipment: 

• Electrical plug outlets 
 
Items for First Aid Kit: 

• gloves 
• scissors 
• tweezers 
• thermometer 
• bandages 
• tape 
• gauze 
• band aids 
• safety pins 
• eye dressings 
• cold pack (keep in freezer) 
• current first aid instruction 

chart 
• class contact information 

 

Other Suggested Materials: 
• pulleys 
• wedges 
• corks 
• marbles 
• small boats 
• plastic toys 
• ping pong balls 
• nuts and bolts 
• screwdriver 
• screws 
• wrench 
• pliers 
• hammer 
• nails 
• watering cans 
• small, hand held 

tape recorder 
• small journals for 

recording data and 
observations 

• clipboards 
• plastic trays 
• tactile materials 
• stacking/nesting 

toys 
• parquetry blocks 
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Additional items that may be added after priority one requirements are met: 

Additional unit blocks, additional block sets, large vehicles for block play 

Variety of puppets, puppets stage, and stuffed animals  

Magnetic board and a variety of magnets  

Additional dramatic play props 

Manipulatives, materials for creating in art and art drying rack  

Additional paint and play dough/clay colors  

Child-sized sofa and chair, play house, farm, and garage 

Tool box, tools, workbench, and safety glasses  

Additional dolls and doll accessories 

Additional dress-up props 

Play mats such as: town, farm 


